CREDITS

(In Order of Appearance)

Donald M. Berwick MD MPP
President and CEO
The Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Health Care Policy
Harvard Medical School
Boston MA

Uwe E. Reinhardt
James Madison Professor of Political Economy
Princeton University
Princeton NJ

Elliott S. Fisher MD MPH
Director of the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
John E Wennberg Distinguished Professor of Health Policy, Medicine, and
Community and Family Medicine
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Hanover, NH

Albert G. Mulley MD MPP
Managing Director, Global Health Care Delivery Science
Professor of Medicine
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Hanover, NH

John (Jack) E. Wennberg, MD, MPH
Peggy Y. Thomson Professor Emeritus in the Evaluative Clinical Sciences
Active Emeritus Professor of Community & Family Medicine and of The
Dartmouth Institute
Founder and Director Emeritus, The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy &
Clinical Practice
Hanover NH

William C. Nugent M.D.
Section Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery
Professor of Surgery & Community and Family Medicine
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon NH

Floyd J. (Jack) Fowler Jr. PhD President, Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making Senior Research Fellow at the Center for Survey Research University of Massachusetts Boston MA

Alan Gittelsohn
Retired Professor of Biostatistics
Johns Hopkins University (1964-1992)
Retired, Department of Health Policy and Management
Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore MD

Gerald T. O'Connor Sc.D. Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine and of Community and Family Medicine

Dartmouth Medical School

Lebanon NH

Elizabeth (Betsy) L. Maislen ARNP Cardiothoracic Nurse Practitioner Instructor in Surgery Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Lebanon NH

Carolyn Clancy MD
Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville MD

Dr. James N. Weinstein
CEO and President of Dartmouth-Hitchcock
Professor of Orthopaedics
Professor of Health Policy and Clinical Practice
Professor of Community and Family Medicine
Peggy Y. Thomson chair
Lebanon, NH

Annette O'Connor MScN PhD
Professor & Tier 1 Canada Research Chair
In Health Care Consumer Decision Support
University of Ottawa School of Nursing & Faculty of Medicine
& Ottawa Health Research Institute
Ottawa, Canada

Jonathan Skinner PhD

James O. Freedman Presidential Professorship
Professor Department of Economics, Dartmouth College
Professor of Department of Family and Community Medicine, Geisel School of
Medicine at Dartmouth and of The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical
Practice

Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth Hanover, NH

Therese A Stukel PhD

Professor, The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice Senior Scientist, Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences Toronto, Canada Professor, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto

PRODUCTION CREDITS

Written, Produced and Directed by

Edwin Gailits

Cinematography

Richard Kahn

Additional Camera

Stew Marton
Peter Pilafian
Paul Gittelsohn
Zoe Dirse
Brooks Reid
Edwin Gailits

Principal Sound

Jonas Kahn

Additional Sound

Justine Pimlot

Interviews

Megan M. Cooper Edwin Gailits

Narration

Tim Keele

Post-Production

Edwin Gailits

Graphics

Simon Ballerino Balvis Rubess Nick Vitacco

Additional Footage

Maine Medical Center, Portland ME
Mayo Clinic Communications, Rochester MN
Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven CT
WCTX-TV, New Haven CT
AHRQ Public Affairs, Rockville MD

Stills

Bailey-Howe Library (Special Collections),
University of Vermont
Wennberg Family
The Hanley Trust / Hanley Family

Journal Permission

New England Journal of Medicine
The American Association for the Advancement of Science

Special Thanks to:

The Robert Woods Johnson Foundation

Special thanks to the following for their contribution to this production:

Paul Batalden
Helen Darling
Bob Evans
David Goodman
Hilary Llewellyn-Thomas
Klim McPherson
Kerr White

Thanks to:

Lawrence Gorton
The Hanley Family
Sharon Vitousek
Sylvia Bugbee
Robert Timothy
Douglas Forbush
Lee Aase
Connie Fitch
Karen Carp
Michael J. Barry
Paul D. Cleary

DHMC The Spine Center

Susan J. White
Dr. Rowland G. Hazard
Dawne Mortenson
Barbara Butler-Schmidt
Cathy S. Ross (NNECVDSG)

Center for Shared Decision Making

Kate Clay Cassidy Robert A Durkee Mimi Dion

DHMC Media Afffairs

Tamsin Stubbs

Atlas Staff

Vincent J. Fusca III Martha M. Smith Debra R. Reeves Kristen K.Bronner Nancy J. Marth Denise J. Smith

Merrick Zwarenstein (ICES)

© 2004